To search for magazine or newspaper articles, select from this Alphabetical List of All Databases. A new browser window or tab will open. To return to this page after searching the collection, close that window or tab.
Access to these databases is funded by The Library of Michigan and the federal LSTA program.
Academic OneFile
Recommended for: Colleges and Universities. Mostly full text. Academic OneFile is the premiere source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Recommended for: Genealogy. Index only. Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Bibliographic citations only -- no full-text.
Books and Authors
Recommended for: General user, Reading advice. A database to help you decide what to read next. Search by character, topic, setting, time period, genre, title, author, and series. Includes over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner, and librarian's favorites lists. Titles include both fiction and non-fiction.
Business Insights: Essentials
Recommended for: (Formerly Business and Company Resource Center) General user, Professionals. Mostly full text. A fully integrated resource including all the same functionality and detailed information as its predecessor Business and Company Resource Center. Enhanced content and features such as the company finder and interactive charting enable users to delve deeper into business data. Business professionals, students, entrepreneurs and general researchers will find company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, SWOT analyses, company histories, chronologies, and periodical articles. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
ChiltonLibrary.com
Recommended for: General user. Full text. ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make, and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.
Computer Database
Recommended for: General use. Some full text. Computer Database has over 2,687,481 articles from journals, trade magazines and popular computing magazines.
CultureGrams
Recommended for: Upper Elementary through High School and general user. Full-text.A leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural
information on countries across the globe, this database includes four
editions: the World Edition (for middle school and up) and the Kids, States,
and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students). Also
includes, photos, downloadable slideshows and streaming videos, build-your-own
sortable data tables and graphs, interviews with native children and adults,
printable maps and flags, sounds files for the national anthems and country
names and much more. Written by local experts, there is information on government, religion,
daily life and customs, history, plus maps, flags, and both
photographs and videos. CultureGrams reports are updated twice annually. Michigan residents or Michigan library access
only.
eBooks
Recommended for: General user. All full text. Over 20,000 eBooks available on all topics. Netlibrary users ALERT--the collection has changed its name to eBooks. Along with the name change come access changes as well. Personal usernames and passwords will no longer work.Logging in from MeL.org remains the same.
eLibrary
Recommended for: Upper Elementary through High School. Full-text (1981-Present). Find over 2000 articles, ebooks, transcripts, photos, websites, focused multi-media, maps and reference sources such as almanacs and encyclopedias. Personal portfolios and tools allow users to tag articles, share links, take notes, build reading lists, and design timelines and slideshows. Includes reading level search, spell check, integrated dictionary and language.
eLibrary Elementary
Recommended for: Kindergarten to upper elementary. All full text. Video, audio, books, pictures, magazines, maps, newspapers, & transcripts of TV and radio shows.
ERIC (Free Version)
Recommended for: Educators, pre-service teachers and parents. Abstracts and/or Full-text. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials such as conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and more.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Recommended for: Junior and Community Colleges. Mostly full text. Magazine, newspaper and journal articles appropriate to college and university -level research. All topics.
FDSys (Federal Digital System)
Freely available materials. FDsys
provides free online access to official Federal Government publications which
include Congressional, Presidential and Federal agency materials. Through
FDsys, you are able to search, browse and download documents and publications.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Recommended for: General user. All full text. Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
General BusinessFile ASAP
Recommended for: General user. All full text. Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only
General One File
Recommended for general user. Mostly full text. A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles. Updated daily.
General Reference Center Gold
Recommended for: General user. Mostly full text. General Reference Center Gold on
InfoTrac Web provides one-stop access to general interest magazines, business
periodicals, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles.
Records are available with a combination of indexing, abstracts, image, or full
text formats. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only
Health and Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module
Recommended for: Students, Patients, Health Professionals. Mostly full text. Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., articles from 2,200 general interest publications and links to reputable health websites in addition to a broad collection of Gale Cengage reference titles. Includes video.
Health Reference Center Academic
Recommended for: Students, Patients, Health Professionals. Mostly full text. Provides access to professional and personal health magazines, journals and reference sources.
HeritageQuest Online
Recommended for: Genealogy, local history and biography researchers.
HeritageQuest Online includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 22,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more. It also includes Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman’s Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions.
Informe! en Español
Recommended for: Spanish Language Resources. Full text. Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Michigan residents access only.
InfoTrac Newsstand
Recommended for: General user. All full text. A collection of more than 1,000 newspapers from around the country and the world. Includes the New York Times (1985-current).
InfoTrac Junior Edition
Recommended for: Middle and Junior High School. Full text. Over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
InfoTrac Student Edition
Recommended for: High School. Mostly full text. Over 1,100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database gives access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Job and Career Accelerator
Recommended for: General user. Easy-to-use online application combining everything you need for a successful job search. This innovative job hunting system enables users to explore, in detail, over 1,000 different occupations and match interests and skills with the career that’s best. It allows searches for over five million recent local and national job postings while conveniently organizing and tracking the users' job search progress, all in one place. In addition, job seekers can create professional resumes and cover letters as well as practice and master interviewing skills.
Kids InfoBits
Recommended for: K-6. All full text. Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Lansing State Journal
Recommended for: General user. Full-text. Comprehensive coverage (2002-Present) of articles, stories, columns, commentaries, reviews and more for the newspaper from the state capital of Michigan.
LearningExpress Library
Recommended for: General user. Interactive online learning platform of academic and licensing/certification practice tests, elementary level testing for math and reading. Includes a section that takes users from job assessment to success on the job. A tutorial course series designed to help all learners succeed on the tests they must pass includes immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of practice test results.
LegalTrac
Recommended for: General user, professional. Some full text. Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
MedlinePlus (Free Version)
Recommended for: Patients and health professionals. Some full text. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. From the National Library of Medicine.
MeL Michigana
Michigana (Sabin Collection): Sources in U.S. History Online
This digital archive documents state history. Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books.
Michigan Authors and Illustrators
Recommended for: General user, Reading Advice. A searcheable database of Michigan authors and illustrators. Provides biographical and contact information. Indicates whether person will do library presentations. No log-in required
New York Times
Recommended for: General user. All full text. The daily newspaper New York Times 1985-present.
OAIster (Free Version)
Recommended for: General User. This catalog of digitized materials includes books, articles and multimedia, representing multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,000 contributors worldwide.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Recommended for: Middle school through college undergraduate and General user. Full-text. Features contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Nursing Resource Center
Recommended for: Nursing students and other healthcare professionals. Mostly Full-text. Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals.
SIRS Discoverer Deluxe
Recommended for: K-9. All full text. A children's database of articles, books, video, audio on all topics. The interface is appropriate to children and includes reading levels, teacher's help pages, over 3,000 maps, and more.
SIRS Renaissance
Recommended for: High school, College and University. Full text.
Provides dynamic information on the following topics: architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts. Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,200 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs, and illustrations.
Small Business Resource Center
Recommended for: Small business owners/entrepreneurs and general user. Full-text. Learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
Turfgrass Information Center
Recommended for: General user. Some full text. In the 1960s, the Michigan State University (MSU) Library began to collect printed turfgrass materials. In 1968, the personal collection of the late O.J. Noer, pioneer turf agronomist, was added to the library holdings through the O.J. Noer Foundation. Today, the combined collection is recognized as the most extensive public collection of turfgrass material in existence.
Between 1983 and 1992, the United States Golf Association (USGA) Turfgrass Research Program supported the development of the USGA Turfgrass Information File (TGIF). Using the Noer Collection as a foundation, TGIF was designed to systematically inventory published turf research and make the bibliographic information available via a computerized database.
WorldCat (Free Version)
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. WorldCat.org lets you find an item of interest and then locate a library near you that owns it.